Motion app review

Motion promises to plan your day for you: it takes your tasks and deadlines and places them into your calendar automatically. It has since grown into an AI work platform. Here is whether it is worth the price.

Research-based review, checked October 2026. We don't take payment or affiliate fees from anyone we review. How we review. Motion includes an AI meeting notetaker; we make Hark, a meeting recorder, so read this with that in mind.

Verdict

Motion is worth a look for busy professionals and small teams with meeting-heavy calendars who want tasks scheduled and rescheduled for them. Skip it if you are price-sensitive or like to decide your own day: at $19 to $49 a seat it costs several times more than Todoist, and there is no free plan.

What Motion is

Motion (from Motion, legally NexusBird, Inc.) started as an AI calendar: you list tasks with how long they take and when they are due, and Motion schedules them into the gaps between your meetings. When plans change it re-plans automatically. Today Motion describes itself as a productivity platform combining tasks, projects, calendar, meetings, docs and AI, sold in two tiers, Pro AI and Business AI.

The core promise is still the scheduling: you stop deciding what to work on next, and your calendar shows a realistic plan for the day and week.

Key features

Motion pricing (as of October 2026)

From Motion's pricing page, per seat per month in US dollars. The page has separate "Individuals" and "Teams" tabs.

Plan Teams, billed yearly Teams, billed monthly Individuals, yearly / monthly AI credits
Pro AI$19$29$29 / $497,500 per seat/month
Business AI$29$49$39 / $6915,000 per seat/month

Both plans include AI chat, projects and tasks, the AI calendar and meeting features, docs, unlimited storage, apps and integrations. Business AI adds team capacity planning, advanced dashboards, timeline and Gantt charts, time tracking, permissions, central billing and priority support. Motion offers a free trial; the trial length is not stated on the pricing page, and there is no free plan.

Strengths

Weaknesses

Privacy and security

Motion's security page says it completed a SOC 2 Type II audit (by Prescient Assurance), encrypts databases at rest and data in transit, and hosts customer data on Google Cloud in Iowa, with EU-only storage not currently available. It states that it does not and never will train AI models on your data, that its third-party LLM providers (including OpenAI) don't train on inputs or outputs, and that it may keep inputs and outputs for a limited time for debugging. The meeting notetaker records calls, so check consent rules where you and the other people on the call are.

Platforms

Who should use Motion

Motion suits founders, managers, consultants and other people whose calendars are crowded with meetings and whose task lists change daily. It also suits small teams that want project tracking and calendar-based capacity planning in one tool.

It is a poor fit for students and anyone on a budget, people with mostly fixed routines, and anyone who prefers to plan their own day. A task manager such as Todoist, used with time blocking in your existing calendar, gets you much of the benefit.

Does auto-scheduling actually work?

The pattern in published reviews and user feedback is consistent. Motion's scheduling works well when three things are true:

When those hold, users describe less time spent deciding what to do next and earlier warnings that a deadline is at risk. When they don't, the common complaints are a calendar full of tasks that keep shifting and the feeling of working for the tool. If you are unsure, use the trial on a real, busy week rather than a quiet one.

Individuals or Teams pricing?

Motion's per-seat price is lower on the Teams tab than on the Individuals tab ($19 versus $29 for Pro AI on yearly billing). Check the seat requirements at checkout before choosing a team plan as a solo user. On either tab, yearly billing saves about a third compared with paying monthly. Also watch the AI credit allowance (7,500 or 15,000 per seat each month): heavy use of AI chat, docs and the notetaker draws it down. Motion's page works the included credits out at about 25 cents per 100 on Pro AI and 19 cents per 100 on Business AI, so Business AI is the better value if you lean on the AI heavily.

Alternatives

Frequently asked questions

How much does Motion cost? +

As of October 2026, Motion's team pricing is $19 per seat per month billed yearly for Pro AI ($29 monthly) and $29 billed yearly for Business AI ($49 monthly). Solo plans cost more per seat: $29 and $39 billed yearly. There is a free trial but no free plan.

Does Motion have a free plan? +

No. Motion offers a free trial and then requires a paid plan. Its pricing page does not state the trial length; several third-party reviews report that a payment card is needed to start it, so set a reminder if you only want to try it.

Is Motion worth it? +

It can be for people whose days are packed with meetings and shifting deadlines, who would otherwise spend time rearranging their calendar by hand. For anyone with a simple schedule, a regular task app plus a calendar does most of the job for far less money.

How does Motion's auto-scheduling work? +

You give each task a duration, deadline and priority, and Motion fits tasks into free time on your calendar around meetings and working hours. When something changes, such as a new meeting or a missed task, it reschedules the rest.

Does Motion work with Google Calendar and Outlook? +

Yes. Motion connects to Google and Microsoft calendars and integrates with tools such as Zoom, Gmail, Outlook and Slack, with an API for custom connections.

Does Motion train AI on my data? +

Motion says it does not and never will train AI models on your data, and that its AI providers, including OpenAI, don't train on inputs or outputs. It completed a SOC 2 Type II audit and hosts customer data on Google Cloud in the US.

Related